Neil Young

I have always loved music for as long as I can remember. My dad played the saxophone and we always had music on in our house. The Beatles really captured me as a fan with their fantastic music when I was just seven years-old. I loved all the music from the 1960s. This would include The Fab Four, The Doors, The Rolling Stones, Bob Dylan, The Animals, Cream, The Dave Clark Five, The Beach Boys, The Byrds, The Jefferson Airplane, Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young, Jimi Hendrix, Credence Clearwater Revival, The James Gang, The Young Rascals, The Kinks, Led Zeppelin, Three Dog Night and on and on.

I also loved the Motown sound with artists like The Supremes, Smokey Robinson, The Temptations and Marvin Gaye. In addition to that, I really enjoyed listening to the records my dad would play which would feature the sounds of the Big Band era, like Glenn Miller.

When I went to UW-Oshkosh, I had two radio shows at the college station. One was a rock show and the other was a jazz show.

In the 70s, I learned to love other music as well, as I became a big fan of Pink Floyd, Steely Dan, David Bowie, Bad Company, Deep Purple, Steve Miller, The Allman Brothers, Lynyrd Skynyrd, The Allen Parsons Project, Rod Stewart, Grand Funk Railroad, Rush and so many other great groups of that era.

Over all those years, my favorite artist has been Neil Young. I have seen Neil in person many times over four decades. That would include him being with CSN&Y, plus I’ve seen him with Crazy Horse or just on his own. I believe I’ve seen Neil seven times.

My favorite show had to be when he was on the Live Rust tour in 1978. Some buddies and I saw him in Madison, Wisconsin.

It’s incredible that Neil has put out such great music spanning over six decades. I enjoyed him with Buffalo Springfield, with CSN&Y, with Crazy Horse or just on his own. I enjoyed listening to him yet again this afternoon.

Neil’s music never gets old, even as we do.

One thought on “Neil Young

  1. Neil Young and Crazy Horse were on top of the music world during the Live Rust Tour. I’ve attended over 100 concerts during my day and I’m still going to concerts. That Live Rust concert was by far the best musical performance I’ve ever witnessed. I can’t even get myself to attend another Neil Young concert so I can remember him just as he was in 1978. No politics – just great music! Rock on Neil.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

